I love the bari sax solo by Pablo Calogero on Shoot The Pump by J. Walter Negro & The Loose Jointz

2 Sep

In fact I love everything about this record – I had the 12″ Maxi Single in Perth in the early 80s and somehow it separated itself from me in one of my moves. I searched and searched trying to find another copy until I began to think I’d imagined it. One day I was flipping through crates in my friend Miggy’s apartment/record shop and had one of those special heart attacks peculiar to collectors when some long searched for grail is uncovered for only $4! I loved it as much as ever … I’d since moved to New York and every summer would think about this song when kids would open fire hydrants. I became fixated with the bari solo and searched the internet to discover the bari player was Pablo Calogero. I learned he’d moved to California but was playing that very week at Tonic, a beautiful Lower East Side venue missed by many New York musicians. I was working the night of the show but somehow managed to email him and he came by the club where I was working … we talked and I was crestfallen to find he didn’t share my enthusiasm about Shoot The Pump. He’d gone on to much more highbrow things and was performing the next night with Arturo O’Farrill’s Afro Cuban Jazz Orchestra (Arturo was also an ex Loose Jointz). I went to the concert and it was very good, but I prefer Shoot The Pump.

2 Responses to “I love the bari sax solo by Pablo Calogero on Shoot The Pump by J. Walter Negro & The Loose Jointz”

  1. richie1250 September 2, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    What a mind bogglingly awesome record! Never heard it before. And so good to be able to read the whole story of the group on the page linked below the youtube video…

    Richie1250

    • Moist Paula's Horn Chic September 2, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

      Hi Richie — my original copy is rolling around Australia somewhere — get busy!

Leave a Reply

